The Thirteenth Tale

The Thirteenth Tale- Diane Setterfield

This is a book I opened read the first chapter put down and forgot about. I was going through my books to sell and I stumbled a crossed it. I had heard good recommendations and so I sat down and pushed through that first chapter. I got so lost in this tale I read it strait threw and did not put it down. Slightly reminiscent of Rebecca by Du Maurier, this book starts with a biographer being invited to a famous author’s house to take her true biography as a death bed confession. The tales she has written in the past are very popular but one book was published the thirteenth tale and only had twelve stories. So they reprinted it. When the biographer listens to this story she begins to understand it’s not just a tale of twin sisters but a tale of murder and mystery. It was full of twists and interesting conclusions that it was an amazing read. I would recommend this book to anyone. I am not going to say any more about the ending because like Rebecca once you know how it ends it’s not the same rereading.

Leave a Reply

